Veneer (Page 7)

“I was being chased because I haven’t paid my monthly rent,” he continued. The girl outside moved her hands, it was a gold chain bracelet.


“You can stay on my flat,” unknowingly, I replied. She stood and started to walk.


No. Rushly, I went outside the building at the back garden to see her but as soon as I reach the bench, to my disappointment, no one was there.


“You’ve got a good taste in choosing your condominium building,” he commented. After four days, he had just been discharged and I don’t know why I took him in.

Now, I’m having tons of problems on how will I be able to live with a human. I drank his blood to fuel my body and there’s a possibility that I may do it again. But why?


“Hey. You, listening?” he asked as soon as the elevator open. Surprisingly, a face smirking to us while arrogantly leaning on the wall meet our gaze. My temperature started to rise again. It feels like I’ll be overheating–as soon as his bluish eyes met my eyes, silently asking why I’m with this guy beside me.


I froze. It’s Kleaser Arima.


“C’mon,” said Kent as he held my hands and pulled me to the elevator.

There was a long second of awkwardness inside the room until a lady on her floral ankle dress entered the lift. She is in front of me and there it is again, wearing a gold chain bracelet. This is the chance I couldn’t miss, out of the blue grab her wrist. “What are you doing?” she asked in a sarcastic voice. Seconds by seconds it sank on my head, embarrassed, I quickly released it.


“You’ve got a nice bracelet,” I mentioned.


“You seem like you’re on the late fashion. This bracelet is a trend nowadays,” she said as the elevator open. “Excuse me I have to go, by the way, thanks.” She continued.
TREND? Just a trend? Unbelievably. Not being able to digest what she said I tried to look at two guys on my back.
Not waiting for me to ask they replied in chorus, “It… it…is—really a trend.”


“Got some foods here?” asked Kleaser as he open the fridge while Kent is obviously silent as he stares on the LED TV and here I am, squatting on the floor near the window, staring the busy city. For the first time I have guests. “No food or drinks,” he commented.

“Then what do you eat?” I paused not knowing what to answer.




Veneer Page 1

Veneer Page 2

Veneer Page 3

Veneer Page 4

Veneer Page 5

Veneer Page 6

Veneer Page 7

Veneer Page 8

Veneer Page 9

Veneer Page 10

9 thoughts on “Veneer (Page 7)

Leave a comment